Emerald Events & Weddings

Brilliantly Green Events & Education, oh my!!!

Our Awesome Vintage, Eco-friendly Wedding…..

Bonjour mes amis,

I must apologize to you.  Between planning my own wedding and those fabulous parties of others, I have been lax in keeping you up to date on our wedding details.  We’ll be getting married in October of this year.  Erich & I have decided  on a 1930’s supper cub atmosphere for the reception.  We went with this theme for several reasons. 

First – I am a self-proclaimed old movie addict.  I can quote you the entire script of Casablanca, The Philadelphia Story, & several other oldies but goodies.  I firmly believe  Cary Grant was, and will always be, the yummiest movie star ever.  I also salivate over vintage posters, clothing and books of the 30’s and 40’s.  And Erich, well he  just exudes classic style.  He is dinner jackets, Sinatra, and a brandy snifter.  If you don’t believe me, check out our engagement photos a few posts down =o).   I’ve also always loved black and white as a color scheme for a wedding  & it fits in really well with this them.

Secondly, we both felt it important to keep our wedding as cost- & eco-friendly as possible & going retro is a great way to do that.  Seriously, if I can’t pull off a wedding using techniques I preach to other brides, I have no right to be a wedding planner.  Instead of spending money on new clothes and jewelry, guests and the wedding party can raid their relative’s closets and thrift shops.  We’ll also be using a local caterer, bakery, and serving local wines and beer.  (I’ll be sharing more tips on accomplishing retro green weddings in subsequent posts).  

Third and most important, we both love a good costume party.  Our friends and family do as well.  Since we were getting married in October near Halloween, we thought it would be a great way to incorporate some costumes without going uber-Goth. (Note to Goth Goddesses everywhere.  It’s not that there’s anything wrong with Goth weddings, It’s just not our style) =o)  Within our friends, we have closet Flappers, Amelia Earharts, gangsters, and WWII soldiers just waiting for a reason to emerge and party like it’s 1939.

So ladies and gents, that’s how we arrived at our theme.  Enjoy our  inspiration photos I’ve collected over the past few months and I’ll get back soon to let you know how plans are going for our swanky affair!  I’d love to hear any comments, suggestions or questions you have about our wedding or vintage weddings in general.

Wishing you “Love, laughter & happily ever after….” (TM)

Melissa

www.emeraldeventsintl.com

 

Talk to us!

