Emerald Events & Weddings

Brilliantly Green Events & Education, oh my!!!

Heavy Heart and Sad Face / re: Collin College Planner Course

realplHello my future students, perky planners, vivacious vendors & eco-evangelistas…
It is with a heavy heart and sad face that I have to announce I am NOT teaching the Certified Wedding and Event Planner course at Collin College this semester. Due to a change in board policy, my class has been reclassified.**  My planners from seasons 1-5 will retain their certifications but anyone taking the course going forward would only receive a CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION, not a CERTIFICATION. =o(confused_woman
Their board has decided (going forward) that they will no longer recognize a certification for any industry which does not have one unifying governing group, like the AMA for Doctors and PMI for Project Managers.
This is not acceptable in my opinion, so I have taken the semester off so the admins can try to persuade the board to again recognize the course for what it is.
If they cannot persuade them, I will take the course I have developed and offer it to another college or certify planners through my green education site – Emerald Certified Seminars. Emerald Certified Seminars
 
We should have a final classification determination in December, and whatever the outcome, I want you to know I am always available to answer questions and help you in any way I can. Feel free to email me at any time!
**It is important to note that this reclassification is college specific, and not global.  My developed curriculum covers more than the industry standard when it comes to small business development, marketing and planning and executing events. 

 Picture1Until next time, wishing you “Love, Laughter & Happily Ever After. . .”

Melissa

Chief Chica Verde

Emerald Events & Weddings & Emerald Certified Seminars

www.BeEmerald.com

One comment on “Heavy Heart and Sad Face / re: Collin College Planner Course

  1. Pingback: The Real Wedding Planners of Collin College – Seasons 1-4 | Emerald Events & Weddings

Talk to us!

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2014 by in collin county, event coordinator, Melissa's life, Uncategorized, wedding certification.
